Hack AC Airflow

So probably when you have an air conditioner (AC) in your room or office you will need this stuff called the Air Reflector… they are very popular here in Indonesia. If you don’t know what that is, please check below for the picture.

This Reflector has one job, that is to prevent/block the air flow from the AC, so it won’t directly hit your body as it can make your neck stiff, moreover can give you cold. Bottom line is, this stuff makes you “more healthy” because sometimes the AC was installed in your room without expecting that someday you may re-do your furniture. And now the desk you will be working on after rearrange is exposed to the AC airflow and hit your body. You don’t want that, it can make you sick especially if you are working in that area for more than 1 hour.

As it is made from acrylic, this thing cost about 12 to 20 Dollar (125.000 rupiahs). Many years I need this air reflector, but I don’t want to buy them simply because it is so bulky and it will trap some dust on it. Besides that it will turn you air con and your room looks ugly.

So, months ago when I was organizing my garage. I find an old but still good acrylic sheet. It’s about 3mm thick. So I think I will make this aircon reflector myself. Because I realize that it will be make too much effort to make similar to the one that is sold, I decided to make it simpler… rather than doing some bending etc.

So I try to cut the sheet to the length of my AC unit, and about 32cm wide. First I’m using steel saw blade.. but it cracked badly. Luckily I have this old sheet long enough to make second one. If you want, actually you can bring it to the acrylic seller and have it cut for you, as an old acrylic sheet usually has some random scratches that can affect the cutting process. I think it is best if you buy new one at acrylic seller according to your need, they will not make you buy the entire sheet as it will make it very expensive.

Eventually, I managed to cut the sheet with some crack but still can work. BTW, I stick some duct tape on the line where I’ll saw that, as it will prevent wider cracks. I don’t have any other idea about how to cut a scratched sheet… well at least this one works not fine , but acceptable.

Then, I make 2 holes near the top corner edge and make other two holes on the opposite side. These holes is to be inserted with some yarn, two holes as to prevent the knot to slips. Cut the yarn about 40cm long, adjust later depending of your AC unit. Buy small “S” hook or clip hook and attached them on the end of yarn. Make two of this arrangements.

So, now you have it.. your own air reflector. I think mine is work perfect, it will get some condensation when the aircon is on. But in my experience, the one that is sold too have it.. but mine was not a problem, since the water never became a droplet and drop on my room floor. Check my picture to see what is going on, feel free to ask me if you need further instructions…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment